In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

It is believed that to handle with traffic problems, Governmental leaders should impose high taxes on private cars and create a fund to develop the transportation system. This essay will discuss both positive and negative sides of this solution.

First and foremost, with a high taxation, this can help alleviate traffic congestion and decrease air pollution from vehicle emissions. For instance, by applying this method, the number of people using cars is less than usual. It will be reduce traffic jams in rush hour and release gas from transportation. Moreover, it also contributes a part to environment protection. In addition, this tax revenue could be used to improve public vehicles. For instance, the government can use this fund to construct better road as well as bus, train with modern amenities. That foster the development of the nation’s infrastructure.

On the other hand, the benefits of this policy can not comparision with the significant drawbacks. A main disadvantages is the financial burden. It causes difficulties for people who live in rural areas and suburbs. There is no public transportation such as bus, metro to commute for work. Therefore, this type of tax can make pressure on individuals with low- income. Futhermore, it is a fact that the automobile industry attracts a lot of jobs and worker. But when the solution is implemented, the production of automobiles will decrease and lead to unemployment.

In conclude, there are both benefits and drawbacks of such solution. The government needs to be carefully considered and combined with other measures to achieve the best effectiveness in addressing traffic problems.