In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Nowadays, traffic congestion is a major problem all over the world. To find such a solution, the Government needs to charge private car owners heavily and utilise the money to improve the facilitation of public transportation. Today we will discuss the advantages and disadvantages related to the solution.

Firstly, the main advantage is if the government has taxed private car owners heavily, as a result, the number of cars on the road decreases as well as air pollution reduces.

Also, potential number of people refuse to purchase a new car for them. Because of that, it is easy for commuters to travel to their important work. For example, the government of London already applied a rule that car owner has to pay taxes every year. And the government utilizes the money to improve facilitation in buses and trains. As well as, they expand public transportation for peoples convenience. Because nowadays, a lot of people have to use buses and trains for their work

Despite these benefits, there are a few disadvantages present. Firstly, taxing private car owners heavily can be seen as unfair to those who depend on their vehicles for essential activities, especially in areas where public transportation is not available. For instance, those living in rural areas may not get efficient public transit. So, it’s difficult for them to travel. In addition, few people can not pay charges because of their financial condition. Although, in this modern era, everything is costly if they want to buy something. So, they face difficulty to paying a tax to government.

In conclusion, if the government will charge private car owners to reduce traffic and use their money to improve local public transportation then it has both advantages and disadvantages.