In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Commonly known that traffic problems are a huge problem for governments. In this way governments tried to increase taxes for car owners and enhance the quality of public transport. Of course this policy can have benefits and downsides.

On the one hand, heavy tax for cars could decrease car users, which will boost the usage of alternative types of transportation like bicycles and public transport. Promoting eco-friendly means of transports will provide less pollution and traffic jams. If people start using bicycles, it will provide better bicycle infrastructure and contribute to healthy conditions/overall well-being. Moreover, people will start to commute by public transport because its lines will be expanded. In addition, cars will disappear from city historical centers, which are often crowded by people. This is an important government action to reduce car accidents. For example, a huge number of European countries implemented restrictions on use of private cars in the city center or in some specific areas.

On the other hand, high car taxes should influence government support, because car users are a major number of the population. The main disadvantage of this policy is that using private cars for some individuals is more comfortable than public transports like for citizens who have children. Also, a large number of people will use public transport which is connected with high quality public transport because money from car taxes will be invested in new buslines or metro.

In conclusion, there are advantages and disadvantages. The Government’s measures of regulation of private cars will improve public transport and the environment, but probably should bring discomfort for people who live on the outskirts. According to European experience, high taxes on cars generally do not solve the problem of traffic jams.