In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

The issue of solving problems by making people forced to pay heavy tax on using their private cars and spend the money on public transportation, has been widely debated among a substantial number of individuals. I can identify two advantages, including the reduction of air pollution and traffic jam, and two disadvantages such as increasing dissatisfaction among people and wasting time in case of emergencies, which will be explained in the following essay.

First and foremost, in my viewpoint, the major advantage of heavy tax on private car drivers and using the money for improving infrastructure can be its effect on air pollution. It is due to the fact that by using fewer cars and replacing it by buses or railways the fumes exhausted from vehicle will be decreased and the amount of carbon emission will be reduced, meaning that it can be more environmentally friendly and as a result the number of respiratory diseases, such as asthma will be reduced significantly. Moreover, reducing of traffic jam is regarded the second advantage. For instance, people do not have to get stuck in traffic jams, especially in rush hours, therefore, their valuable time will be saved.

Turning to possible disadvantages, it seems individual’s dissatisfaction can be really harmful in this regard, meaning that people may feel demotivated and frustrated when they have to pay a lot to tax. Another disadvantage might be that some emergency situations may occur and because people are not free to use their own cars they may encounter to harsh moments. To illustrate, in case of child birth a person should be quickly taken to the hospital and every single moment is vital in this critical situation.

Overall, regarding the stated topic, reduced air pollution and traffic jam can be considered the most important advantages, while public dissatisfaction and time wasting in urgent circumstances are regarded as the most essential disadvantages to the issue.

49min.