IN RECENT YEARS, MANY GOVERNMENTS HAVE BROUGHT IN LAWS TO BAN SMOKING IN PUBLIC PLACES, SUCH AS BARS, RESTAURANTS, AND OFFICES TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE

Nowadays, more and more people are starting smoking, despite of the health diseases it causes. It is also dangerous for passive smokers. Subsequently, a lot of governments bring in a law that smoking in public areas is forbidden. Personally, I completely agree with this idea, and I will support my opinion with examples.

To begin with, smoking is a harmful habit for people who are addicted to it and unable to quit it. Smoking has a great impact on health, especially on the lungs. A lot of people die every month because of dangerous diseases caused by cigarettes. Moreover, it is more harmful for people who do not smoke but breathe the smell of cigarettes. For instance, many researchers proved that passive smokers’ lungs are damaged more than active smokers’ ones. As a result, the government ban smoking in public places, in order to reduce the death rate.

Another reason why I agree about this point of view is that it is unpleasant to breathe this terrible smell of smoking and live in the place with polluted air by cigarettes for the majority of people, especially for children. For example, I hate when someone smokes next to me, and I cannot be in the place where there are a lot of smokers. Moreover, smoking in public areas can be very dangerous according to the safety instructions. Subsequently, the government makes special places for smoking in a lot of public places such as the airports, shopping centres and so on.

On the other hand, it is undeniable/important to bear in mind that people must have freedom. That is why someone argues that banning smoking in public areas is the violation of freedom of choice.

To sum up, I agree with the statement and I think that the best way to save people’s lives and reduce air pollution is the prohibition of smoking in public places such as restaurants, malls and parks and the increasing fines for people who do it. Obviously, the adults have to give the right examples of behaviour and taking care of health for the youths.