In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

A lot of small local stores had to shut their business due to clients opting to buy from shopping malls and large-sized companies lately. This essay discusses the merits and drawbacks of this phenomenon.

There are two main advantages of people [prefering] to buy from shopping centres. The first of [this is] that customers can often find higher product variety. This is because there are greater quantities of diversified store types inside a mall. For instance, clients can often find, from clothing articles and groceries[,] to furniture and home utensils there. Moreover, it can be easier to find products on sale and cheaper prices. This is due to several stores having to compete within themselves for their clients’ money. Therefore, people can often buy more for less money there.

However, there are also disadvantages to this. The most significant is that it does not promote [economy] diversity. When people mainly spend their cash in large centres, small-sized entrepreneurs are forced to stop doing business or even [get] bankrupt. As an example, several boutiques in my city have either closed or migrated to the shopping centre due to slow client flux and financial problems. Furthermore, clients often do not receive personal customer service in big stores. This is due to fewer [salesperson] having to deal with high amounts of customers at a time. As a result, clients often receive inferior customer service in large malls.

In conclusion, the merits of people buying from shopping malls are that there [are] more product variety and often better prices due to sales. The downsides are that it is not [a] economicaly diversified practice and there is usually poorer customer service.