In recent years, more and more people are chosing to read e-books rathen than paper books. Do the advantages outweight disadvantages

With the rise of technology, a new way of reading has been developed – e-books. Although reading electron books can offer numerous upsides such as being accessible everywhere, I believe that drawbacks of this development outweigh its benefits.

One of the positives of reading e-books can be accessibility of them. If a person needs to read something, these types of books come useful as they do not require any physical storage; no matter where you are, you can make the use of them without any difficulties. For example, these books can be extremely useful at times when one does not plan to read a book and ends up in a situation in which they have some spare time. Apparently, most people waste their time, on the way home when coming back from work or school, which can indeed be allocated on reading something beneficial for either their career or just enjoyment. Furthermore, digital books are often so user-friendly that readers can benefit from various tools within them and convenience they bring. Highlighting the necessary parts, visiting hyperlinks placed in them, being able to read them at night in a night mode are just a few of the sides that users can find quite convenient

Despite the positives mentioned above, I still believe that digital books can never give the sense of authentic reading as paper books can. One of the advantages of printed books is that a person can learn more from them due to the fact that there is nothing that distracts your attention in most paper books. Electron books, on the other hand, are read on a phone or a computer which are not originally made for reading. Other functions of them such as the chance to connect to the Internet, the potential of other people calling you or remembering that you should have texted someone, are thought to break readers’ attention, resulting in worsened reading experience and ineffective reading habits. Hardcopy books are also significantly healthier than e-books because the latter can cause harm on one’s eyesight or even more, sleep deprivation. While I understand that these books will not cause any harm if used moderately, we should not also ignore that there is no risk of suffering from them. This is because book reading is an activity that attracts people so strongly that you may not notice that you have been reading for hour

In conclusion, although e-books are portable and possess features that are user-friendly, paper books are less harmful and more effective. Therefore, in my view, the benefits of reading paper books outweigh its drawbacks