In recent years, more and more people are chosing to read e-books rathen than paper books. Do the advantages outweight disadvantages

Nowadays, many people prefer to read online compared to paper books. This essay will discuss why the advantages of e-books outweigh the disadvantages.

The greatest drawback of reading online is eye straining. Spending hours staring at the screen can cause many vision problems. For instance, one of my friends who used e-books to learn, later had many vision related problems and presently uses spectacles.

Despite these negligible drawbacks online reading has many benefits. The greatest benefit of this is the easy accessibility. Anyone can access the information at any time as there is no time limit. For instance, this would be very helpful for students, especially for doing projects or assignments as all the information will not be available at the local stores.

Paper making causes many ecological problems due to deforestation. Advancement of e-books can curb this situation. A recent study on e- books has inferred that, the number of trees cut down for making paper has far decreased compared to the previous years. Additionally, it also offers the benefit of low cost. Physical hard copies of books are so expensive and is not affordable for everyone. For example, we had to refer a book for our research and the book was very expensive but when we searched online we got a free pdf, this was very helpful for us.

In conclusion, the figures of people preferring to read online is surging compared to the past years. This new advancement has many positive effects despite a few negligible drawbacks.