In recent years, there has been a rise in the use of performance-enhancing drugs in sports. What are the consequences of doping for athletes? What measures should be taken to combat this issue?

Nowadays, there is an uprising issue of more frequent usage of doping among sportsmen. Athletes, resorting to such measures, will eventually face severe consequences for their choice. Therefore, I believe that some measures should be taken to decrease the use of performance-enhancing drugs.

The main consequences that a sportsman after doping will face are the end of their career and loss in a source of finance. As it is banned to use doping to ensure fair competition, there will be strict sanctions against an athlete who used it, which include ending their career and banning them from any sport forever. Another aftereffect is a loss of social respect and trust and, eventually, becoming a notorious athlete. Such a bad reputation can strongly influence a sportsman’s income, decreasing the number of sponsorships and advertising contracts, as no respectful business would like to deal with an infamous athlete.

Despite the popularity of doping, I believe there are some ways to decrease the usage of it. First and foremost, there must be compulsory strict check-ups before the competition to check if sportsmen are using any kind of drugs influencing their performance. Such checking can prevent athletes from trying doping as they will fear that it will be discovered no matter what. Second of all, there should be more programs or advertisements to raise awareness of doping and all of the aftereffects an athlete can face afterwards. If young athletes know more about the consequences of performance-enhancing drugs, they will realise how much doping is not worth it.

Taking everything into consideration, there are adverse effects of doping such as ending an athlete’s career and their income decrease. There are also some ways to combat this issue, like mandatory check-ups and raising the awareness of drug’s aftereffects.