In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects, while boys choose science subjects. What is the reason? Should the trend be changed?

Majority of girls students tend to opt arts instead of science, while boys are keen for choosing science. The reason behind this trend is that people choose these subjects depending on the professions. In my opinion the practice should be altered to create more innovation.

Firstly, there is a misapprehension among people that science-related jobs suit to boys; nevertheless arts-related professions fit to girls. This misconception creates a discrimination between female and male, which ultimately forces the girls and boys to select these particular subjects that are suitable for them. For example, if we look at Bangladesh, we can observe that engineers and other science-related jobs are particularly full with boys; yet teachers of Bangla, English most are girls. Therefore, this scenerio highlights that girls and boys are use to this plot since their childhood, which eventually develop a mentality to opt these subjects.

However, this trend should be stopped for our betterment. Science is indispensable for everyone to learn. If we limit this essential subject for only half proportion of people, it will be a great threat for discovery. Additionally, by following this practice, we loose brilliant girls who can be a breakthrough in invention. For instance, Newton, Robert Hook, and many famous scientists are male, it is hardly seen any female scientists. If girls also participated in this field and enhanced their interests towards innovation, our world would experience an advancements than now. Thus, by considering this matter, girls should be encouraged more to learn science.

In conclusion, science-related jobs are most common for men and arts-related are for women, which reflects girls to opt arts and boys to choose science. Nevertheless, this practice should be changed for unearthing more discovery around the world. Although arts is also valuable, science is more important, hence girls should be encouraged more to select science and arts should be implemented for those who do not like science.