In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects, while boys choose science subjects. What is the reason? Should the trend be changed?

It is seen from ages that, in many traditions, men are the breadwinners for the families while women take care of the household and rear children. For these reasons, men have to gain skills that are necessary to take up prestigious professions that help them to earn a respectable livelihood. Whereas women would need to have skills such as cooking, decorating the house, stitching, knitting, etc. As far as this trend is concerned, I would like it to change in the future.

To begin with, men are the providers and women are the caregivers of a family. And this is the thinking of people in most of the developing countries. People still have an opinion that boys are good at subjects like mathematics, physics, etc. Girls take up subjects like literature, home science, and fashion. Moreover, parents pay more attention and put more efforts on their son’s education when compared to their daughters. For instance, male children are sent to private schools whereas girls to state schools. Apart from this, boys’ education is funded with more dedication and also they are encouraged to take up higher education, go to abroad universities. They are also kept away from any household responsibilities whereas this is not the case for the female counterparts.

This tendency should be changed by educating people about women empowerment. Moreover, government can also help by sponsoring a part of girls’ education. Parents should be told about the importance and benefits of girls’ child’s education. For example, if a girl is given equal opportunity to excel in various fields like boys, they can uplift a country and its society. Women are responsible for bringing up the children and this could be done in a better way if she is educated.

To conclude, if women in a country start taking up roles like men, a country tends to develop and reach unimaginable heights. Therefore, such a discrimination should be brought to an end at the earliest.