In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects, while boys choose science subjects. What is the reason? Should the trend be changed?

Some individuals hold the belief that one of the most debating issues in schools and universities is girls and boys like choosing different respectively subjects that are art and science subjects. There are a number of reasons behind this trend, and several solutions should be taken into account to address it.

A range of factors are responsible for the aforementioned problem. One reason for increasing interest of children choose subjects is different characteristic of two sexes. This is because girls often are gentle, soft and even do not like to do things that are too heavy or difficult, however, for boys have the instinct to conquer, explore and discover rough things. For example, when they are small, girls really like drawing, or even create some doll’s clothes by themselves, boys tent to choose robots to assemble. Another factor that contributes to this trend is that family and peer pressure can play a role in these decisions. Many students feel compelled to follow expects of parents and friends on them, which can reinforce these stereotypes. As a result, girls usually attend to art classes, including: painting, drawing, literature, etc., in contrast to boys that are maths, science, physics, etc.

However, in my opinion, whether this trend should be changed or not, it brings both positive and negative depending on their success. Both genders are equally capable of choosing their decisions because science is not only for boys, girls can also choose it and vice versa. The underlying reason is there are girls who are very passionate for some reason, such as wanting to follow their parents’ profession, they are not good at arts, feel they are not suitable with art subjects. Additionally, there have been women around the world who have participated in scientific research, and famous male designers, etc.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for this situation, and having various decisions for choosing either art or science subjects depending on their favories.