In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts while boys like science. What are the reasons for this trend and do you think this tendency should be changed?

In the contemporary educational system, there is a common belief that girls are likely incline towards art-related subjects while their counterpart favours science, technology, engineering, math (STEM) majors. The roots of this tendency are varying. From my perspective, this pattern should be altered for gender equity.

One of the main factors that contribute to this disposition is social bias. Since the early days, the association between genders and professions has been deeply integrated in the community. Many people believe that boys are born to be wiser and physical stronger than girls. Thus, men are considered to be more suitable for scientific-related job, which are intensive. Meanwhile, girls are delicate and dreamy. Therefore, they are more fit in the roles that require skilfulness, imaginative and creativity, such as art or design. This notion has been widespread and accepted in every household. As a results, parents tend to encourage their son to pursue the lucrative subjects while guide their daughter to choose the less demanding educational programmes like arts. Moreover, male chauvinist attributes to this trend. In several countries, people believe that familial responsibilities are the most important thing in the women life. Hence, girls do not need such an extensive education. This discourages parents from supporting their daughters in pursuing science-related course, which are often more expensive.

Despite these deep-rooted convictions, educational belief should be changed to ensure gender equality. Several research have been illustrated that the potential and capabilities of women and men are comparable. In fact, many women achieved success and significantly contributed to the conventional male-dominated fields. For example, Marie Curie, a Polish physicist and chemist, won the Nobel Prize for her discovery of radioactive elements. Her groundbreaking work had paved the way for advancements in modern science and technology, proving that gender does not determine the ability of individual in contributing to scientific progress. Similarly, pioneers like Ada Lovelace in computing or Katie Johnson in space exploration have shown that with equal opportunities, women can excel and innovative in any areas. Hence, it is essential to develop an educational system where all students, regardless of gender, can pursue their interests and talents without biases and limitations

In conclusion, while societal biases and individual perceptions drive women towards art courses, it is crucial to foster an inclusive educational environment that provides equal learning opportunities for both genders. Such environment will generate a skilled and talents workforce, thereby sustainably contribute towards the development of prosperous and equitable society.