In some companies a typical working week has been reduced from 40 to 30 hours. What are the disadvantages and advantages of this ?

In many companies reducing working hours have become a modern practice. This decision has resulted in an enhanced mental health and job satisfaction: however, it reduces productivity with increase in operational cost.

Shorter work week have played a significant role in improving mental health of the employees because they get quality time to spend with their loved ones. Less mental pressure has increased employee’s productivity in lesser hours. Consequently, it boosts job satisfaction. For instance, a worker who has been maintaining work-life balance proved to be more efficient.

On contrary, compressed work week has been resulted in lower production which overall leads to lower profit. More workers need to be employed for the same task: which therefore, raises manufacturing cost. Because of this, owners tend to pay more labour cost for lesser working hours to produce same number of items.

In conclusion, this new work style has a negative impact on the growth of the companies which leads to less profit making. Whereas on the other hand, it has proven to be more productive for employees and optimize their work-life balance.