In some countries at secondary or higher school, there may be two streams of study: academic or vocational. What are the advantages for students and society of putting students into two streams at the age of fifteen?

The rising population in the modern world pose grave consequences to the survival of humans in the form of reducing food availability, endangering natural habitats and economic instabilities such as high unemployment rate. However, the latter is the one where much focus is needed right now. This is because the number of jobs that are available for potential individuals are drastically declining, which affects the welfare of the people. Therefore, schools must initiate the dual stream program (academic plus vocational) at an early stage to equip students with high theoretical knowledge that is supported by quality practical experiences.

First, the dual stream program provides the opportunity for students to implement the learnings from academic subjects like mathematics and science in a practical scenario. As a result, it enhances the learning process and make the students more independent such that it stimulates them to take more wiser decisions. Furthermore, it increases the chances of employment and such that a student will be able to find a respectable job without pursuing an undergraduate degree. Moreover, companies prefer students of these qualities because the compulsory training offered by these organizations can be removed and result in more cost savings.

On the other hand, the program can cause a high amount of stress in an individual. Also, it harms the student interests. For instance, one who is more inclined in the field of theoretical physics may find the initiative forced, where manpower training is not required.

In conclusion, both the students and their respective societies would be benefited when the joint stream program is initiated in the high schooling system, guiding young teenagers to a better future with high employment opportunities.