In some countries at secondary or higher school, there may be two streams of study: academic or vocational. What are the advantages for students and society of putting students into two streams at the age of fifteen?

It can be given, in some countries, for students at the age of fifteen to choose between an academic or vocational field of study which can be advantageous both for students and society.

On the one hand, giving the possibility to follow an academic or a vocational stream can be beneficial for students who are able to adapt their curriculum to the job they have chose. In other words, students can early follow the right course for their futur job consequently they might increase their level of qualification as well as their motivation to perform. Moreover, a student dreaming of becoming for example a teacher or a doctor will be able to study in his vocational way earlier, as a consequence he will be able to begin to study and focus on the skills needed for his vocational job which is increasing his ability to improve his marks. In addition, being able to begin his specific study as a youth lead to have enough time to change his mind if needed as it can be difficult for a fifteen years old to be certain of his choice for his future job.

On the other hand, for countries having two streams of study till the age of fifteen, it might bring a lot of positive points. Firstly, by doing that, countries will see a rise in their work force; furthermore, for this reason they should decrease their imigration due to the lack of workers. Secondly, those countries should be more competitive and attractive owing to a large number of skilled people. Obviously it is a massive advantage for countries by increasing not only their work force but also their skilled workers.

In conclusion, there are many beneficits both for students and for countries to have a two streams of study system for the tertiary education in term of work force, competitivity and attractability.