In some countries, despite the decline in serious crime, people feel less secure than ever before. What do you think are the main causes of this problem and what actions can be taken to solve it?

In certain countries, in spite of a considerable decrease in the rate of serious crime, people still feel more insecure than ever before. The main reasons behind this are cyberbullying and scamming that are becoming trends nowadays. The most practical solutions would be not to overshare personal information on social media and report to authorities immediately.

There are two main reasons for a sense of insecurity among people. Firstly, cyberbullying is one of the most common crimes these days, especially on social media platforms and the victims of this are mostly young adults. As a consequence, it can lead to serious mental health problems and some even attempt suicide. For example, it can be seen that several singers in Korea attempted suicide due to hate they received on social media. Additionally, the prevalence of online scams has reached alarming levels. In Uzbekistan, criminals take out money fraudulently through Telegram and the victims are mainly adults who are not aware of security rules.

To tackle these problems, people can be taught social media etiquette such as not oversharing confidential details (home address, phone number) or posting hate comments on anyone’s posts. Another solution would be to report the authorities if people’s information has been leaked through fraud. For instance, in Uzbekistan, the Cybersecurity Center is responsible for handling issues of social-media fraud and online scams. With these solutions, people’s awareness can be raised and if these problems happen they know what to do.

In conclusion, the main problems which are causing a sense of insecurity among people are cyberbullying and scamming, and by educating people about security rules these problems can be prevented.