In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

Despite the fact that the level of dangerous crimes has declined in numerous nations, certain populations still think it is less secure. The most obvious reasons are the aftereffects of crime acts and the detailed description of crime reports. I believe that the most viable solutions are increased safety measures and a ban on detailed descriptions of serious crimes.

The aftermath of previous crime incidents can cause people to feel unprotected. In other words, crime activities, which evoke a sense of terror and horrifying atmosphere, become alarming memories for people to pass by certain locations. As a result, many people feel uneasy to walk alone or be around strangers. In addition, detailed coverage of serious crimes can only create more panic in public. This is because, while frightening information is broadcasted without filtering, media outlets will only signify unnecessary visualizations and increase the level of anxiety among the communities. In effect, those who consume such news will damage their mental health and develop paranoia. For example, in the UK, 70% of news viewers express fears of coming out of their houses after watching serious crime reports.

A possible solution to this issue is improving safety measures in place. The police department is a key element to implement extended security strategies. In such a way, passersby can cultivate the feel of relief and seek a way for help in any danger. Additionally, a ban on detailed descriptions of crime incidents is another solution. This will keep negative visualizations away from the public and prevent unwanted fears in the minds of the public. For instance, in Japan, the implementation of censorship on crime reports by the news outlets has successfully contributed to civil stability.

In conclusion, while the causes of an unsafe atmosphere in public are the effects of previous crime acts and detailed reports of crime incidents, those problems can be tackled with improved safety measures and a total restriction on detailed crime reports.