In some countries it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight. How far do you agree with either of these views?

Many today argue that it is beneficial for children to start formal education when they are four years old, whereas others contend that they should begin at seven or eight. Personally, I strongly believe that beginning studying at four has particular advantages; however, children manage to concentrate and learn better at a later age.

To begin with, early education becomes more and more prevalent in many countries, and there are two major reasons for that. First, if children start their school at four, they adapt more quickly, since they interact at an early stage of their lives. In turn, adaptation contributes to young individuals’s communication and social skills. Another reason is that if children start studying at four, they have more time for learning all sophisticated stages of education. As a result, whole educational course becomes much easier for students.

On the other hand, four years old students often get distracted while studying. To illustrate this point, children at this age are still more interested in playing games and watching cartoons rather than studying math. In account of this, the academic performance of these students declines dramatically. In addition, children frequently experience anxiety and get apprehensive in a new environment, especially, without their parents. This may influence children’s mental health in the future, so they will become more distrustful.

To sum up, even though beginning formal studying at an earlier age has advantages such as quicker adaptation to a learning environment, they also feel more uncomfortable, which affects their well-being. In contrast, starting education at eight years old helps them to concentrate more efficiently.