In some countries, more and more adults are living with their parents after graduating from college, university, or even after finding a job. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been much controversy about whether more and more adults choose to live at their parents’ houses even after growing up brings more benefits or drawbacks. From my point of view, the merits of this trend exceed its drawbacks.

On the one hand, living with parents after graduating from college/ university or becoming a worker may have negative impact on young adults and they will have to deal with some challenging difficulties if they move out in the future. Living with parents may make people feel dependent on their help. In turn, children don’t need to deal with housework or even financial issues early in life. Therefore, those people usually experience a lack of abilities and mental strength to overcome stresses and obstacles when they have to live on their own. For example, a study has proven that students who move out at the age of 18 have the higher chance to be successful in their career later in life thanks to the experience of learning to rely on themselves.

However, I believe that in today’s world, staying at parents’ house have more advantages. One clear advantage of this is those people are able to develop a close relationship with their family members. This may have positive effect on their mental health. Doctors have warned that more and more students encounter depression because of serious financial difficulties or isolation. Living with families may help alleviate the situation as they can share their problems and ask for help, which really hard to do if they live alone. Another advantage of living with parents is money-saving. The cost of renting houses and tuition fees witnessed a remarkable rise year by year. Therefore, staying at home will save a large amount of money which might be needed in the future.

In conclusion, it seems to me that living with parents helps us avoid various challenges in life, in terms of finance and mental health.