In some countries, more and more shops are open long hours every day of the week. Is it a positive or negative development for shoppers and local community?

A large increasing number of retail shops in a few countries are open for a longer duration of the days of the week, which is a trend increasing day by day. The following essay will discuss both the positive and negative sides before providing my reasoned opinion.

On the one hand, there are two main facilities for opening shops for longer hours. First of all, a great number of people in the modern world, who work more than approximately ten to twelve hours, get enough facilities for opening shops late at night. They can purchase anything they need at any time. This is not only beneficial for consumers, but also helps shop owners, who may earn a lot of money by keeping the shop open until late at night, it is a way to enhance sales. Moreover, it helps the store employees, who will be able to work overtime, earn more money than what they got by working on time.

On the other hand, despite some benefits, there are some negative effects too. Firstly, more electricity is consumed when the stores are open for the entire day. Due to this, we have to suffer the shortage of electricity, which is a big problem for people on earth. As a consequence, this will become a long-term issue for the modern era. Apart from this, robbers may get a chance to rob if the shop is open at night. In addition, working long hours will leave employees with very little time for themselves, which will cause them mental and physical problems. As a result, they can not satisfy customers with their behavior, they will be rude.

In conclusion, regardless of few demerits, the prolonged opening of the market helps a country’s economy by generating higher taxes and hence, in the overall results development of the country.