In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Denizens of several countries prioritize owning a home instead of renting one. There are several factors that cause this phenomenon, such as financial security and personal identity. I believe that this situation is a positive one.

The first reason of people’s preference for permanent home ownership is financial security. Houses can be used as a collateral and are important for its owner’s credit score. Rental fees are a burden on families, especially economically-disadvantaged ones. This issue is even more true in times of financial uncertainty. For example, during the 2008 economic crisis, many landlords greatly increased their monthly charges, which put a lot of renters in dire straits, financially. The second factor is personalization. Landlords often forbid renters to personalize their residence or do certain activities. This is a big deal to many people, as they see their homes as a cornerstone of their personal identity. Speaking from my own experience, my house is where many important memories are formed and it is thus integral to my identity. People who only temporarily occupy rented houses may not be able to obtain such things.

In my opinion, this is a very important issue and permanent home ownership should be more accessible to the general populace. Permanent residence confers a lot of benefits, and rental housing often has a lot of downsides. Thus, I believe that this trend is a good one and should be encouraged.

In conclusion, people prefer fully owning a place of residence instead of leasing one for several reasons, such as improved financial security and to be able to assert their identity. Moreover, I think this phenomenon is beneficial to society and its citizens.