In some countries, people buy clothes and choose hair styles according to the latest fashion. Why is this happening? Is this a positive or a negative development?

In today’s world fashion plays an important role in people’s lives. Most people tend to follow the latest fashion trends and purchase their clothes or get haircuts according to them. There are several reasons for this and this is mainly due to the effect of social media. From my point of view, this matter has both pros and cons.

First and foremost, it is undeniable that fashion has a great impact on individuals globally. One of the most significant reasons for this is the influence of social media, most importantly the influencers and celebrities. To clarify, users of social media platforms, such as Instagram, Tiktok or Snapchat feel the need to keep up with the latest trends that are created by influencers, in order to fit in with the society. In addition, most individuals love the idea of being perceived as modern and stylish, therefore they believe that by following the popular trends they can achieve what they want.

I am convinced that keeping up with the trends has considerable benefits. By trying out various styles people get to know their own styles and feel more comfortable in certain social situations. Additionally, current fashion trends can also help the designers to design clothes that are up-to-date and appreciated worldwide. However, there are also downsides of this trend. For instance, because of the cutting-edge trends people may feel less confident as they can constantly compare themselves with others. Moreover, teenagers can experience peer pressure, as keeping up with the widespread trends is more popular among the adolescents. From my personal experience, a friend of mine makes sure that she buys the trendy items and gets her hair done weekly, which does not affect her positively.

In conclusion, even though staying up to date with current trends can affect people in a positive way, such as boosting their confidence, it may also lead to negative consequences, including peer pressure. Therefore, it is necessary for individuals to maintain a balance between preserving their self-esteem and following the trends.