In some countries, schools are teaching foreign languages for primary school children. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern world, learning a foreign language is crucial for all individuals, especially children. Although some specialists argue that, it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary level rather than in high school. In this essay, I will discuss why the main advantages outweigh the disadvantages of learning a foreign language.

Firstly, primary school students are more intelligent than high school students, because they are at a young age and their brain works quickly. Furthermore, a teacher can teach them through games, the teacher can behave like a friend. for instance, if a child properly acquires a word in her childhood, her memories save that word for a long period. Therefore, the primary level of learning a foreign language is an excellent decision for all children.

Conversely, although it has many advantages, there are some disadvantages. Primary level students are so small. so, they cannot keep pressure on their mind. They have to study many types of subjects. Although it is an international language, some mothers believe that learning it affects their mother tongue. For example, if any student mainly focuses on foreign language, he cannot learn his own country’s basic information. As a result, high school learning is better than primary level.

In conclusion, although it has some disadvantages such as academic pressure, learning a foreign language at the primary level is highly beneficial. I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.