In some countries, schools are teaching foreign languages for primary school children. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people argue that teaching other languages to primary school children in some countries is necessary. Although this has several drawbacks, I still believe it has more benefits.

Granted, one might argue that teaching a second language to primary school children is detrimental. The first disadvantage of this is the lack of time for children to concentrate on other subjects. This is due to the fact that the current curriculum in most schools forces children to learn many subjects, leading to limited time for relaxation because they are unable to maintain their intense study schedule. As a result, these students can be stressed easily. Secondly, adding another language into the curriculum can increase tuition fees. To explain, parents have to pay more for the tuition fee because children tend to acquire a new language better when taught by foreign teachers, who require higher salaries. Consequently, these parents have to confront a bigger financial burden. For instance, parents who enroll their children in some international schools in Vietnam, which often offer multilingual education and include longer duration of English lessons with overseas teachers, tend to afford a higher fee compared to local schools.

Despite the above-mentioned disadvantages, I believe that the advantages of teaching foreign languages to primary students are more significant. To begin with, the expansion of knowledge that they can accumulate. This is because children can absorb knowledge faster and they can also learn about the cultures of those languages. This results in a wide range of opportunities to study because of a higher requirement for languages in this increasing globalization. Moreover, children who learn languages have to interact with their peers, leading to an improvement in their communication skills. Thus, they can boost their confidence as an essential factor in the community.

In conclusion, while there are many disadvantages regarding teaching students foreign languages, I believe the benefits that result from this trend are more of vital significant.