In some countries, schools are teaching foreign languages for primary school children. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, some people think that foreign languages should be taught in primary schools. In my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages because foreign languages will be necessary in their future job and their lives.

On the other hand, learning foreign languages in primary schools can bring several benefits. Firstly, children have more time to practice foreign languages in their childhood than in adulthood and they are more willing to learn the language which they want. Secondly, children in primary schools can absorb knowledge more easily than students in secondary schools and high schools because they do not have the number of things to do . Therefore, students in primary schools have a chance to use the second language proficiently, while many students in higher education levels start learning foreign languages late, leading to difficulties in learning languages. Furthermore, they will have a better language foundation if they have a systematic process to learn foreign languages. Besides that, these benefits may put them at an advantage in their future lives, for instance applying for a job position with a good wage in their country or having a chance to get a job in foreign country. Also their careers have opportunities for advancement.

In the other aspect, teaching foreign language for primary school students has several drawbacks. Firstly, Children can be faced with pressure about their studies because some students are not excited to learn other languages. Moreover, they are under pressure from their parents. Because in a parent’s mind, they don’t want their kids at a disadvantage compared to peers. Secondly, if kids learn two languages at the same time, they can get a language disorder, which is dangerous for children. In addition, leading to their mother language lack of base knowledge. Thirdly, they face a hard balance between their mother tongue and foreign language. Furthermore, kids spend a lot of time learning foreign languages which they are not interested in, resulting in their hobbies being limited and they do not have much time to develop aspects such as physical health, time to relax,…As a result, children will be stressed about their studies, leading to their mental health will be destroyed and negative consequences will occur in future. There are several solutions in which we mitigate negative effects such as primary schools that divide time reasonably for children’s class language so that they have a lot of time to rest and their parents should not put pressure on their children. In addition, children can be free to choose subjects or foreign languages which they are significantly excited to learn.

In conclusion, learning a foreign language has necessary benefits for an individual’s skill and communication skill. Although students are forced to learn foreign languages early, leading to many negative things. However, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, such as having better pronunciation, and understanding about different nations when you travel to foreign countries. In addition, these advantages may make you have a better life in the future and not fall behind the rest of the world.