In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which do you think is appropriate in today’s world?

Education plays a prominent role in shaping individuals’ future careers and in driving social development. Therefore, secondary schools, right in the middle of the whole educational program, should provide a range of subjects as wide as possible. This is because the comprehensive knowledge ensured by doing that enables more possibilities and opportunities for students.

Today’s society is characterized by frequent changes and constant reforms, so individuals have to make repeated attempts to adapt themselves to the transforming social environment. This requirement for flexibility necessitates large storage of basic knowledge, which is the foundation to engage practices in different fields and to apply for jobs in various occupations. By providing a wider range of subjects for teenagers, middle schools are actually cultivating versatile talents who have the abilities to achieve smooth transitions across different social development stages, ensuring constant personal promotion and social contribution. Therefore, middle schools should try to cover more subjects, helping their students establish an expansive foundation of basic knowledge and promising broader career development after they graduate.

Undeniably, compared to focusing on few specific subjects, comprehensive learning during middle school may temporarily leave out the knowledge in the deeper levels. Nevertheless, it is important to notice that it is not middle schools but universities that are the correct places for detailed academic study. In other words, even when middle school students skip the deeper part of their subjects, they can continue to delve into them in universities.

In conclusion, middle schools are supposed to offer as many subjects as possible to ensure their students’ comprehensive growth, which, in turn, can inject all-rounded talents with strong adaptability into the society.