In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In some developed nations, big mall centers tend to replace small town-center shops in market. As a result, the needs of owning cars witness an increase, because consumers want to go to large stores which are usually located out of their town. From my perspective, this statement has both benefits and drawbacks that I would like to discuss in this essay. After that, a decision of whether the disadvantages of this trend outshadow its disadvantages or not will be drawn.

On the one hand, I assume that this statement is sometimes advantageous for several rationale. A primary one arises from the fact that goods sold in enormous out-of-town malls usually have higher standard than those from small town-center stores. This comes from the fact these big stores are invested much money to improve and maintain machines which are used to contain foods, drinks and other products. In addition, this statement helps to stimulate the finance of these countries. To be more specific, when individuals buy more and more cars, which can contribute to government’s spending thanks to the taxation that they have to pay to own cars.

On the other hand, I also believe that this statement have some positive aspects for some reasons. First, buying products from big out-of-town malls instead of small town-center shops could lead to high rate of unemployment. Therefore, it can have an serious impact on national economy. Another justification for this belief is that this trend could cause many environmental problems. For instance, the air quality might be made worsen due to the release from cars that people buy to go to these out-of-town stores. As a result, the human health is also affected, and they can develop some undesirable diseases.

To conclude, I think that this change has both advantages and disadvantages for some reasons. Nevertheless, I am in favor of the view that the negative aspects of it outweigh its benefits for several explains.