In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Nowadays , it is a noticeable phenomenon that some individuals living in rural area prefer to drive to the big-scale store instead of that in local town, resulting in the increased need of vehicle. The public begins to analyze and compare its possible demerits and merits. In my mind, its disadvantages outweigh its advantage.

Actually someone believe that it has some positive effects. A common criticism is that something bought in the larger stores may have better quality and its price is more economic, Meanwhile, due to the limited customers, that in small stores may be not so fresh and cheap, From this perspective, It is quite reasonable for some residents to drive cars to somewhere far away from the living area.

However, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Primarily, as the number of customers generally reduce, the local supermarkets would face some tough issues. To be specific, they have to throw out the rest food and update it everyday, lead to significantly increased of their cost. Consequently, due to the huge financial burden, some of them have to close or decrease the food quality, making enormous negative impacts on the local residents without cars.

On the other hand, someone use the private vehicle frequently, may resulting in an increasing trend of cars’ needs . Importantly, the cars emit the greenhouse gases and other atmospheric pollutants immensely, and these traffic emissions are hugely harmful to our body. For example, Some relevant researches indicate that the air quality in most first-tier cities is not good and the air pollutions have become one of the main factors that cause disease of some people.

To conclude, improving the basic facilities such as stores, market and so on in some rural areas is a feasible approach for the government, bringing some convenience to the local people and maintaining a long-term harmony society.