In some countries, the government has tried to reduce traffic. For instance, they imposed a congestion tax during rush hour. Do you think this development is positive or negative?

It is witnessed in many nations that new laws have come into action to minimize traffic congestion. An effort in that is the governmental promulgation of the congestion tax. This development is positive thanks to the merits that have been brought to human life.

To begin with, the congestion tax contributes to regulating the flow of traffic. Knowing the ways that traffic jams are often seen, people would avoid those routes and choose another one or go at another time. As a result, it can be seen that there will be fewer means of transport concentrating in a street during rush hour.

Moreover, applying additional tax helps decrease the demand to go out by car during rush hour. Instead of having to pay for a higher expenditure cost than usual on the way to work or when traveling around the city, people would switch to a more cost-efficient way such as using public transport, working from home or changing the time to start work.

Finally, this legislation aims to improve the quality of the environment. Indeed, fewer vehicles on the street means that there will be fewer exhaust emissions, thereby improving the situation of air pollution. In addition, it will enhance the driver’s vision on the street and improve safety when using a vehicle on the street.

In conclusion, the authorities’ action to impose an additional cost whenever there is a traffic jam is a positive development due to the control of traffic flow, promoting the use of alternative means of transport and environmental benefits