In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A higher numbers of teenagers in few countries are enrolling vocational training rather than pursuing a university degree. While there are few drawbacks of this decision, getting a vocational degree might have several benefits that outweigh its disadvantages. In this essay, I will discuss both sides with my opinion.

There are a number of benefits why young people eager to obtain a work-based training. The primary advantage is that they gain a hands on training in a particular field within a short time. Specializing into a specific field makes them capable to work from an early age, providing them opportunity to work on realistic-based rather than theoretical. Another benefit is that they can support their families by earning from a young age. Thus, this creates a strong economy of their countries as young workforce have proper jobplacement. Furthermore, getting a university degree is comparatively expensive, where such educations have their potential effective outcomes.

Despite having such conveniences, it can not be denied that solely relying on work-based educations have some drawbacks. Firstly, the courses are mostly designed for short time, a duration from six months to one or two years. As a result, it is not possible to deliver sufficient knowledge to the students. Therefore, there might having a chance of huge gap of informations. Another disadvantage is that they might not get high salary and promotion. In most of the countries, to get a higher position, one must has a bachelor degree which can only be obtained from a university. Although, they are well-skilled, because of lacking this educational qualification may hinder their professional growth.

In conclusion, although, pursuing work-based training has few drawbacks in professional growth and lacking of knowledge, I would argue that its advantages outweigh these demerits.