In some countries, there is not enough respect for elderly people. Why is this the cose? Suggest some solutions.

The lack of respect for elderly people has become one of the concerning problem in some countries. There are several reasons, such as altering in the social values and no mutual respect from older people towards to young generation. There are number of solutions that should be implemented to deal with this issue. For example, provide the rule of etiquette in the educational system, and do not underestimate the influence of upbringing.

One of the most contingent reason for the issue of respect to elders is changes in cultural norms. People used to think that all adults were automatically authorities because of the experience and knowledge that young people did not have. However, nowadays development of the internet has a huge impact on this generation, and the common belief now is that freedom of speech and equality are paramount, pushing age into the background. For instance, Japan has known for its respect for elders. Traditionally, elder people in Japanese households were the most respected among all. Nonetheless, new generation departs from tradition, preferring formality. Second problem related to the mutual respect between these two groups. Most elder individuals require the respect, while forgetting about mutual respect. Therefore, youth does not see the value of trying to be deferential.

Some possible solutions to this problem are to start from the field of education. Schools can introduce topics on etiquette, social empathy. Providing such activities in school can help instill respect for elders from an early age, as children spend a large part of their time at school absorbing knowledge. Moreover, the next step do not forget about upbringing, which is actually is one of the crucial aspects of educating children to be respectful towards elderly. Because mostly children repeat for parents, so parents should be an example.

To conclude, lack of respect for elders may be due to a lack of mutual esteem on the part of elders and also due to amendments in values. However, this can be solved by introducing subjects on respect and paying attention to the education of young people.