In some countries today, many people decide to have their first child when they are older. What are the reasons? Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There are growing population of older moms in this 21st century at some developed countries. This main reason people having their child late is that women are entering work forces and experiencing life before settling down. I strongly believe the advatages of having children late outweight the disadvantages.

The first contributor of people having their first child late is becasue of the women entering the workforces. Nowadays, women can easily attain higher education to climb career ladder and enter white-collar professions. This leads to women pritorize thier professional work for financial independence first before having children. There are several studies about how career growth of women were delayed by having children. Moreover, both modern men and women want to experience life before settling down like travelling arround the world. It becomes part of the modern life style such as volunteering in developing countries and travelling for cultural understanding. As a result, it delayed time to find the life partner to settle down which leads to having children late.

However, having children late brings advantages to the children. As both parents have stable income and career including ample of life experinces which can result mature parenting. This can create a safe and loving home for a child which is important for a child’ development. The violence parents and instable house can cause childhood trauma and effect on child’ well being. Some claim that older parents especially older mom can bring health problem to the children. However, the advance in the medical field can solve such worries.

To conclude, people are having children late due to women working and exploring life before settle down. Despite the risk of health in children which can be solved by advanced medicine, older parents can create safer home for childern.