In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

In a society where technology is fastly advancing, more university students are starting to move away from their family to a city or even country to study for a better education. This is becoming a growing trend in certain countries like Ameria where it has become a norm for university students to live on their own. However, in other places of the earth, students still live at home with their family and attends a university nearby. Some controversy has been started around whether the students attending university in another city is safe for them, whether it is suitable for them. However, I believe that the benefits of living away from home during university outweights its advantages.

Firstly, when a university student lives on their own or in a dorm with other students while attending university, it gives them the ability to be more independent. Independence is a crucial life skill needed in order to survive in the real world when they start with fully depend on themselves after graduating. When a university student isn’t at home anymore – a place where they are used to depend on their parents – they will have to fend for themselves. This means making their own food, managing their own time and money. Some university students may be given allowance from their family to make life easier for them, which they will have to learn to use properly so that they can survive on that money. Some university students don’t have to worry about that money that much at all as their parents will take care of all of that, including the monly water and electricity bills and other necessities. However, cases like this don’t happen that often. Instead, what will happen is that the university students will have to find a job for themselves in order to off their bills and food. Most resort to part-time jobs, usually working at a cafe or fast-food chain. The money made from working there isn’t a huge amount, but just enough for them to get by. If the students don’t learn how to use this money responsibly then they may end up in debt or having to rely on their parents for money instead, which won’t help them adapt in the real world after graduating. When a university student has most of the power control over their life, they will be able to learn how to control that power and use it to their advantage. For example, a student who stays at home with their family tends to not have to worry about things like the bills, food, etc. This doesn’t seem like such a big problem, but when that student starts to work, they will have a harder time fending for themselves than that of a student who already starts to learn to live independently in another city.

When a student stays at home with their family, they are more comfortable there. They are living in a place that they have known their entire lives, with the people who have raised them as a child and have always been beside them. That sounds great. However, the student may get too comfortable living in this bubble of people they know that it will be hard for them to be far away from that person as they start to work. A student who attends university from another city tends to have to be out of their comfort zone and is exposed to this new environment, new experience and new friends. Most university students tend to stay in dorms or apartments, where they will form close friendships with the people that they are living with, a bond. They will learn how to survive with these people who are also new to the environment. They will learn how to be comfortable around these people who’s going to be strangers at first. This helps improve a university student’s communication and social skills, which are also crucial if you want to survive in this fastly changing society. It helps the university student to learn to live with other people as they might have to do that with a potential partner in the future. However, if a student stays at home with their family, the only new people they meet are the students at university, that’s it. They also won’t get the experience of learning to be comfortable around other people who aren’t their family and close friends, which will make it harder for them to adjust in the future.

In conclusion, whilst there are disadvantages to living away from home during university and there are benefits with living at home in university, living away from home is still an interesting and new experience. A student will get crucial skills from it and it will help them adjust to the new world better in the future.