In some countries, students pay their college or university fees, while in some others, the government pays for them. Do you think the advantages that the government pays the money outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, there has been an ongoing debate whether or not governmental bodies should subsidize learners’ tertiary education. Although some may argue the drawbacks of this policy, such as more beneficial alternatives where that budget could be redirected and the probable lack of students’ academic curiosity, I firmly believe the advantages outweigh the disadvantages on the grounds of the consequences of learning and people’s rights to fundamental frameworks.

While many counter the implication of governmental funding for university fees due to the more sensitive matters that require immediate action, the necessities of allocating funds for academics still stand. Take underdeveloped countries for example. It is evident that basic infrastructure such as healthcare is extremely crucial, especially in remote areas where the medical professionals are short-staffed. Accordingly, the government can direct its national budget to supporting its citizens’ approach to higher education. After graduating, learners can alleviate this situation, maintaining the cyclic flow between students and medical personnel hence enhancing the country’s standard as a whole.

Moreover, others hold a belief that when some individuals receive governmental university funding, they will lack interest in learning and academic mindset since that expense is allotted towards everyone, including those not eager enough to learn. While motivation is a concern, the principle of equal opportunities is the basis of humans’ rights. In many developed countries where enrolling in a university is widely encouraged by the state, in spite of for whom the funding is, bestowing it in the first place creates more good than harm, such as promoting a sense of diverse communities of peoples from different backgrounds; the mentioned doubts should not deter the government from cutting this allocation.

In conclusion, while the downsides of allocating a state’s fund may be concerning, it is still less important in comparison with the upside, including the benefits of literacy to the country and the significance to some forms of higher education. For all given reasons, I argue the necessity of state-funded university fees.