In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, the majority of young adults who complete their high school studies are inclined to pursue an academic career and enroll in a bachelor’s degree. A vast amount of these students prefers to take a gap year in order to experience the real world and travel or work to gain more consciousness on their future commitments.

On one hand, some might argue that taking a gap year is a waste of time and leads young adults to a loss of focus in their studies. In fact, pausing for such a long period does not allow the student to maintain the good habits that have been developed and nurtured throughout the high school years. In addition, students who start working straight away might lose interest in continuing their studies if the job they find is fulfilling and are inclined to give up their previous academic dreams and objectives.

On the other hand, many suggest taking a break from the intense routine of the student and take some time to better reflect on the university choice which is complex and requires a deep understanding. Due to this fact, working or travelling for a year is fundamental to make a plethora of experiences and thoroughly comprehend your ambitions and desires. Moreover, working for a year allows young students to save money that can be used to pay for higher fees which allow studying in better universities and pursuing higher ambitions.

In conclusion, students have various possibilities among which to choose from: they might decide to continue their studies without stopping or take a gap year to better know themselves and their objectives in life. Either way, it is fundamental that the choice is well thought of and does not interfere with the qualities and future possibilities of the student.