In some parts of the world, people are living to an older age than they used to. Some people say that this causes problems but others say that an ageing population has advantages for business, for government and for society in general. Discuss both views and give your own option

There has been an increase in the numbers of people who live longer nowadays, compared to the past. Some think that having a large ageing population can trigger obstacles for political leaders, while others argue that it has a positive impact on society. In my opinion, although it has some problems for governments to manage their housing, the benefits surpass the drawbacks because of the willingness to share the young with their experiences and the countries’ good reputation when it comes to life expectancy.

On the one hand, it is essential for leaders to allocate national income in accommodation for the elderly although there are a lot of sectors to improve for the sake of the young future. Instead of investing the expenditure on education, for example, it is needed to spend countries’ revenue on places to live for the elder generation. As a result, it is less likely to enhance the countries’ main sector, like education due to the improvement in older people’s quality of lives.

On the other hand, people who have lived longer play a crucial role in shaping the younger generation’s attitudes. This is probably because teenagers tend to make mistakes when they lack the knowledge given by the elder. To illustrate, old-aged individuals have more experiences of making mistakes, so when they share these to young adults, young-aged people can avoid those errors at an early age. Moreover, if a country has more over 70-year old people than other nations, it can boost this nation’s popularity. For instance, Japan is famous for its possession of the older generation. As a result of this, it is considered as one of the happiest countries in the world.

In conclusion, despite the enhancement of housing for older people can lead to degradation in countries’ important sectors, I believe that owing to the knowledge the elderly have and the good popularity of countries, the upsides of possessing these people exceed the downsides.