In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family. Why might people want to do this? It is positive or negative development?

In the contemporary era, the curiosity of individuals about the history of their family tree is increasing. Personally, I believe that it is a negative development, since people may treat it as competition, comparing the honour of their family, and researching family history can lead to emotional disstress if they discover something unpleasant.

One of the negative aspects of researching family history is social comparison. In an era of social media development, people may share impressive history of their noble ancestors. Which might cause a sence of jealousy in those whos’ family background are either less impressing or associated with poverty and hardship. Moreover, they may begin to feel ashamed of their history and hate their identity, which leads to mental problems. As a result, instead of being pround of their family tree, one may face a mental well-being issues, and lead individuals to judge their ancestors based on their life.

Another negative side, the deeply exploring family background may go wrong, and people can have an access to information that they should not know. Individuals may uncover something painful or disturbing fact, such as criminal behavior, inside conflicts and lies by family’s side. This data can be shoking and difficult to live with. For instance, the unsatisfying evidence of criminal story can damage and change attitude of persons’ family, and even cease their connection. Furthermore, fanatism to such discoveries could damage familys’ members relationship.

To draw a conclusion, nowadays individuals tend to be interested in the history of their family, making a researches to find information. In my opinion, this is a negative trend, as people have a chance to be ashamed comparing their history with others, and accidentally find out data that ruin their mental health.