In spite of technological developments in transportation, many people believe that a bicycle is the best way to reach in any destination. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using a bicycle nowadays?

In this contemporary era, where advancements in transit technologies are surging, many people assert that cycling is the most convenient way to reach our location in the city. This essay explores both, the positive points and the drawbacks of the same.

To start with, bikes give many advantages related to health and environment, for which people are concerned. Firstly, using pedal-powered vehicles helps the body to do exercise while at the same time, moving us around. Secondly, people are now more cautious about the environment than ever. They believe using cycles can reduce the carbon footprint, which they would have left behind using cars and other fuel-powered vehicles. Thirdly, the older generation wants to live more, and for that they must overcome their obesity, that is one reason. For instance, if these people use bicycles, the chances of a heart attack reduce significantly. In the Netherlands, for example, where cycling infrastructure is well developed, the life expectancy is higher than any European country.

On the contrary, there are few drawbacks of using cycles in the city. To begin with, if the metropolitan city does not have adequate infrastructure and dedicated bike lanes, the accident rates will surge tremendously. Moreover, if this trend continues, the riders might get gravitated towards other alternative modes of transportation, such as public transport and trains. Furthermore, bikes are not suitable for longer distances in cities, and the lack of parking space for them discourages people from using it. To add to this, recent news of cycle thefts has further deterred public to use them.

To conclude, there are certain disadvantages of using bikes concerning the insufficient facilities and thefts, while there are also many favourable outcomes of using them, in regards with health and nature. People can opt for either transport method to travel from alternative or cycling, considering the distance and availability of the destination.