In the advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is noticeable contemporary businesses tend to highlight the novel aspects of their merchandise in their advertising campaigns. This essay aims to unveil some reasons behind this trend and argue that it is a negative development.

To begin with, the primary incentive for businesses to accentuate the newness of their products in advertisements is to boost sales and revenues. With that goal in mind, companies must first successfully entice the ever-changing consumers, and advertisers understand that we humans often find things that have never been presented before more appealing and exciting. Hence, it encourages them to buy and try these products. In addition, businesses also have to contend with other competitors in the market, and promoting their products that offer more innovative features helps them stand out from the rest. Businesses that do not partake in this trend are usually left behind, resulting in a detrimental flop in the number of sales.

One of the reasons I believe this trend sparks more concerning problems than positive influences is how many of these advertisements frequently confuse consumers. A common practice of this is how the marketing departments often exaggerate the features of products, misleading the customers into thinking the new products are a significant upgrade when they may only be slightly better versions. Another troublesome concern that arises due to this trend is waste. As many people continue to buy in the belief of novelty, which these advertisements promote, they will never be satisfied until they have the latest merchandise that is present, creating a cycle of consumerism that is destructive for the minds of people and the environment.

To sum up, though highlighting the novelty of products can enhance a business’s revenue by making it more appealing to potential customers and setting it apart from its rivals, it is arguable that this practice can have adverse effects on consumers and the environment.