In the developed world,the average life expectancy is increasing.What are the problems associated with this?Suggest some measures that should be taken to reduce the impact.

Nowadays, First-world countries have shown a huge advancement in healthcare. While considering that as a huge success for the healthcare sector, it also introduces detrimental effects on the economy of those countries.

Basically, countries that possess higher numbers of elderly people are more likely to fall economically. There is a huge financial pressure applied on the developed countries with increasing numbers of elderly. These pressures are represented in higher monthly social pensions, increasing unemployment rate for this class in society and also directing governments to shift their missionaries far away from the industry. For instance, the industrial sector requires young and diligent workers, a thing that is missing for the elderly populations. Let us take Greece for example, unfortunately, Greeks suffer from higher rates of unemployment and increasing numbers of elderly. As a result, their governments were forced to reinforce their economy towards tourism and services economy, which has highly affected their economy negatively.

Optimistically, there are several solutions to this pressing problem. Firstly, Governments have to find urgent and practical measures that do not affect societies on the short term, Instantly, Leaders should encourage younger generations to reproduce in a higher rate. And this could be achieved through introducing efficient rewarding systems for every child. What I mean is that, every child has to be afforded financially until ending his secondary education. Furthermore, authorities may introduce agreements with other countries, with a cheaper lifestyle, to receive the elderly people in order to improve their tourism. By doing that, after 10 to 20 years, younger generations would be qualified to enter the workforce and this will affect the economy positively.

On the whole, although ageing populations in western countries is considered a serious problem, measures may be introduced to solve it on the mid-term.