In the future, it is difficult for humans to live on Earth. Some people think that more money should be used on research on how people can live on other planets such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is predicted that the Earth will be less capable of sustaining human life in the future, raising serious concerns over the long-term survival of mankind. As a result, a school of thought insists that greater financial resources should be devoted to the exploration of other hospitable planets, such as Mars. In this essay, I will provide explanations as to why I disagree with this viewpoint.

On the one hand, investing in such research might not be worthwhile due to the uncertainty of its results. First of all, the vast majority of known planets are considered uninhabitable because of their harsh environmental conditions. Erratic weather patterns and the absence of a breathable atmosphere are among the primary factors preventing humans from living on such celestial bodies. Secondly, human progress is likely to be limited by technological constraints and a lack of astronomical understanding. It might take decades and an enormous amount of funding to develop technology sophisticated enough to locate a habitable planet, let alone establish human life there.

On the other hand, there are various pressing problems on the Earth that should be top priorities regarding financial allocation. In many parts of the world, especially in developing countries, people are suffering from poverty, food shortage, pollution, and so on. Such social issues deteriorate human quality of life and require a large amount of money to address. Undermining or turning a blind eye to the severe impacts of these problems can perpetuate the negative situations or even exacerbate them.

In conclusion, efforts to find another suitable planet to settle on are appreciated. Nevertheless, the low probability of success makes it more necessary and justified to spend money on addressing existing issues rather than discovering other planets. Having discussed that, I maintain my disapproval of allocating expenditure to such extraterrestrial research.