In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In the following years, people would not like to spend their money to printed newspapers while they have a chance to access them online for free, with zero effort. In this essay I will be comparing printed newspapers and digitally accessible newspapers to realize if this idea is logical or not.

On one hand, I simply agree this situation because the upcoming generation is much more lazier than today’s adults. The generation Z would not prefer to get out of their home and spend their time and energy to buy a newspaper if they are able to read it on their technological device. Being forced to buy a newspaper is a huge childhood trauma for most of the children which supports the idea of online newspapers will be the replacement of printed ones.

On the other hand, I do not fully agree with this situation for some reasons. Initially, I believe that reading printed newspapers are a part of culture which means they are not that easy to be destroyed by technology. Moreover, in the case of newspapers becoming digital and free, governments would presumably become aware of this situation which does not benefit to them financially, resulting in even a minimum amount of pricing to the digital newspapers. This may lead people to return to their old culture, which is buying printed newspapers.

Ultimately, purchasing printed newspapers and reaching them in digital world both has their own advantages and drawbacks which makes me believe that none of them would disappear in the future.