In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is expected that people will prefer digital books over physical books in the upcoming years. I completely agree with this statement because e-books have significantly improved, and they provide easy access to many books.

To begin with, digital apps for reading are experiencing great improvements, which makes reading much more enjoyable and interactive. A large number of corporations compete with one another to develop the best applications by introducing new innovative features, such as adding notes or translating sentences directly in the app, which make language learning much easier and faster. For example, digital applications such as “MyBook” provide a range of opportunities for memorizing vocabulary from the text by highlighting words and making detailed notes.

The second reason why I agree with this is that people can now find more textbooks and rare materials on websites. A decade ago, readers often faced difficulties finding rare textbooks, and they had to travel to another city to buy them; however, now the internet gives access to a myriad selection of books. Furthermore, purchasing only one digital device might be more economically profitable than buying too many books, which usually end up unused or forgotten on shelves. For instance, according to the “New York Times” newspaper, 95% of students currently use digital devices instead of traditional printed books.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the number of individuals preferring digital books over physical books is predicted to increase in the near future because digital applications for reading are developing day by day, and more books are easily found online, making reading more convenient and accessible than ever before.