In the past, everyone wore clothes according to their culture, but now people wear similar clothes all around the world. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Clothes are a part of identity, an expression of individuality and a reflection of personality. Before globalisation, people of different countries and cultures wore clothes that were traditionally made. However, in the present day scenario, fashion trends have gone universal and one can observe a lot of similarity in the apparels worn by people around the world. In this essay, I will weigh the pros and cons of this development and try to arrive at a conclusion.

Uniform clothing trends are a boon for the garment industry. With similar fashion preferences gaining popularity across the globe, businesses are able to expand and venture into new markets. Moreover, dressing alike becomes a unifying factor for people. This in turn reduces discrimination and brings about equality. Thus, universal dressing codes are widely accepted because of their appeal and are an important medium of popular culture.

Conversely, wearing the same kind of clothing hampers diversity. Westernisation has deeply impacted cultural traditions with fashion styles being a key component that have undergone transformation. As a result, people have lost respect for their own traditional attires in the race to be a part of the cosmopolitan majority.

To conclude, it can be said that fashion is dynamic and cyclic. What is in vogue at one point may pale into insignificance and would then be replaced by another trend. These trends, however, do not die down fully and may gain prominence again. Therefore, in my opinion, although we should follow clothing conventions that are universally accepted, yet we must ensure that we stay connected to our roots and do not lose respect for our traditional attires.