In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Information, nowadays, is kept in virtual libraries or the Internet while knowledge was stored in tangible forms in the old days like books and other paper documents. While this tendency is somewhat disadvantageous, I believe its benefits are more significant.

Preserving data on the Internet can prove unfavorable to some people for a reason. To commence, though the Internet is a reliable place to store facts and data, some look at the information available online with a skeptical eye. This is partly because as the amount of information is growing at an unprecedented rate, so too is the prevalence of fabricated information. Wikipedia can be a good point in this case. Not only do people can change the information on this website, but it is also possible to delete any part of a context, which can lead to potential misunderstandings. In this sense, having knowledge stored online on different platforms and websites can be undesirable for it can give rise to misleading facts and statistics.

Despite the downsides, I strongly believe that the shift from paper to online materials is a change for the better. However unreliable some websites and data may be, there are always checked-out facts that are provided by a few trustworthy platforms like YouTube, X former Twitter, Facebook, and many more. True, there are many accounts that constantly post fake news or information in general; however, these have been prevented by giving credible channels and accounts a blue tick, which illustrates their trustworthiness. Another reason why keeping information online can be a positive development is accessibility. That is once data has been uploaded onto the online database, it can be accessible to the majority of Internet users today, which is one aspect that touchable books and documents lack because their usage is limited to one person. Seeing this phenomenon in this light, its advantages far outweigh the drawbacks.

In conclusion, although keeping information online has some downsides such as being a cause for confusion, its benefits, I think, overshadow the disadvantages. One is that it is more reliable than ever, and another is making the knowledge reachable to a vast number of people worldwide.