In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s digital age, most people have a passion for gaining wisdom via the Internet, rather than through traditional books as it was in the past. However, although this trend can have some drawbacks, I believe the advantages, including fast accessibility, eco-friendliness, and cost-effectiveness, are far weightier.

On the one hand, I concede that acquiring knowledge through the Internet can save people time. Since individuals, both professionals and ordinary users, can upload their research without any limitations, people can find themselves with a wide range of data. This can make it challenging to distinguish between valid and invalid information. Another downside is the lack of in-person interaction. In the past, if people wanted to enhance their knowledge, they had to go to libraries to borrow books and find information, leading to conversations with different people, which is fundamental for academic and social success. These days, due to virtualization, such interactions are not as common.

On the other hand, although the downsides to online availability are a real concern, I feel that there are more reasons for us to upgrade our knowledge via the Internet. Firstly, the availability of information online is cost-effective, as most people do not need to pay for commuting, such as buses or taxis. This means they can save money and spend it on other necessary services. Another advantage of acquiring knowledge online is fast accessibility. With just a few clicks, people can access a vast range of data, updating their information in the shortest time possible. Moreover, e-books can be eco-friendly. The less demand there is for physical books, the fewer trees are cut down for paper, which has a positive impact on our ecosystem.

All this being said, although acquiring knowledge via traditional books offers more opportunities for conversation with various people, I agree that searching on the Internet plays a remarkable role not only in preserving our ecosystem but also in saving time and costs. Therefore, I think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.