In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. What are the advantages and disadvantages of internet containing the knowledge?

Recently, all information can be easily found on the internet, while in the past, books were the only source of knowledge. This essay will suggest that time-efficiency is the biggest advantage of this and overdependence on the internet is the primary disadvantage.

It might be very time-consuming to search for some information from the books, thus, people simply decide to find the information on the internet. This allows them to get access to huge amount of data in a few amount of time, rather than wasting hours going to the library in an attempt to gather facts and doing tiresome and tedious search. Research was done by Adam Winston, professor of Yale University, in 1980 has demonstrated that students of Education and Humanities department spend approximately 72% of their time for collecting information in libraries for their literature review.

Despite these advantages, many people often become too dependent on the internet, so they lack critical thinking skills and show lower levels of ability to find the resources by themselves. This can lead people to rely solely on digital networks not using their brain capacity and in case of non-access to the internet they can not thoroughly work withy papers and books. For instance, a recent survey by the Quora Digest found that only 21% of people took part could find relevant materials from the book while other percentage of participants abandoned their search in the half way.

In conclusion, finding information online can be beneficial because of its time-saving appeal, however, people also should not be addicted to the internet.