In the past, people used to travel abroad to look for many differences from their home country. Nowadays, cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons?Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is said that in the past, people used to compare the differences between cities of foreign and their home countries when they traveled abroad. However, the cities are becoming increasingly similar throughout the world these days. In my opinion, there are numerous reasons behind this concern, and the advantages of this development are more significant than the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why this is the case, one of which is international standards and regulations. To explicate, countries can adopt similar infrastructures and practices to meet the shared international guidelines for urban planning, like environmental sustainability. For example, countries with transition economies usually create their infrastructures by replicating and practicing from developed countries to meet international standards. In addition, the convergence of diverse cultures might contribute to identical city structures. In other words, the movement through borders brings different cultures together, in turn, leading to the blending of cultural elements, which can contribute to the overall similarity of city structures worldwide.

On the other hand, I fiercely believe that the benefits brought by this development outweigh its drawbacks. Firstly, the similarities between cities can help multiple cultures to adapt, and integrate easier. Secondly, similar cities can help foster business operations. This is because operating in common infrastructures and urban experiences can reduce the challenges associated with adapting to unfamiliar local environments, making it easier for businesses to operate and advance.

In conclusion, there are various reasons why this is the case, such as the replication and blending of cultures, and, in my view, this development is more positive than negative.