Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

As crime is one of the biggest concerns in many societies, some people argue that extended prison sentences are the best ways to alleviate this problem, while others believe that some alternative methods are more efficient. This essay will examine both these views before providing my own opinion.

On the one hand, longer jail terms significantly contribute to the reduction of criminal activities. Once facing the risk of losing their freedom for a long period, it may discourage people from the intention of committing crime, considerably reducing the crime rate from the beginning. In addition, besides being deterrences themselves, harsh sentences also play as the best way to manage people who commit felonies such as murders and robberies. By giving longer imprisonment, serious criminals will be kept far from society, maintaining social order and ensuring public safety.

On the other hand, there are arguments to the support of using alternatives instead of long period sentences. Admittedly, harsh punishments can be a deterrent when it comes to felons, however, to minor crimes such as shoplifting and picking pockets, it may be unnecessary. As a result, directly tackling the drivers of crimes such as poverty and unemployment can be far more effective. Once given with educational and employment opportunities, people are less likely to experience challenges that may lead to criminal activities, allowing them to enjoy a stable life rather than offending for survival.

In conclusion, while extended prison terms remain necessary for deterring serious criminals, I strongly believe that the best way to reduce crime in the long run is to solve the root causes of it by making education accessible and creating job opportunities.